Various Artists, 'Shadowplayers' (Les Temps Modernes)
DVD [LTM_2391] UK

Release date: 13 June 2006
PAL Barcode: 5024545409093
NTSC Barcode: 689492052195

Shadowplayers is a feature-length documentary tracing the
early history of iconic Manchester record label Factory Records,
between 1978 and 1981. The film was made by director James

The facts and fictions are explored through candid interviews
with 22 key participants, including Anthony H. Wilson (founder)
and Peter Saville (designer), as well as musicians including
Peter Hook (Joy Division/New Order), Vini Reilly (Durutti Column),
Simon Topping and Martin Moscrop (A Certain Ratio), Chris
Watson (Cabaret Voltaire) and Howard Devoto (Buzzcocks/

Other interviews include members of Section 25, Crispy Ambulance, The Names, Minny Pops, Swamp Children and Thick Pigeon, as well as other eyewitnesses and insiders such as Richard Boon, Annik Honore, Lindsay Reade, Richard Jobson, Graham Massey and Killing Joke.

The film runs for more than 2 hours and is divided into 19 chapters,
covering subjects such as The Factory Club, sleeve art and graphic
design, genius producer Martin Hannett, the riot at the Joy Division
concert at Bury in April 1980, the Factory Benelux connection, the
tragic suicide of Joy Division singer Ian Curtis, the beginnings of
New Order, and the decline of the post-punk culture in 1981.

Shadowplayers is based exclusively on new spoken word interviews, with soundtrack music by Section 25 and New Order, and rare images and graphics. The cover art is based on the first Factory design (Fac 1) by Peter Saville from 1978.

DVD extras include individual profiles for each interviewee.