Joy Division concert

15th January 1980: The Basement, Cologne, Germany

Songs performed:
01. Atmosphere
02. Love Will Tear Us Apart
03. These Days
04. Insight
05. Twenty Four Hours
06. A Means To An End
07. She's Lost Control
08. The Sound Of Music
09. Glass
10. Day Of The Lords
11. Shadowplay
12. Interzone
13. Disorder
14. Transmission
15. Atrocity Exhibition
Photos (C) Copyright Reinhard Völkel and reproduced here with permission. These photos surfaced in 2010.
4th February 2010:

Reinhard Völkel has produced a limited edition hand printed set of the above four photos which is available directly from him for 50 euros plus postage.

The set is a limited edition of 20 copies comprising the above four photos. The photos are 25 x 30.5 cm (9 1/2 x 12 inches) and numbered and signed by the photographer.

The above image is a photograph of the photos. The reflections on the two photos on the left are reflections, they are not on the photos.

Click here to contact Reinhard Völkel directly

Two recordings of this concert exist; one misses the beginning of Atmosphere, but features the complete Atrocity Exhibition. The other source has the full intro to Atmosphere, but cuts during Atrocity Exhibition.

appx. duration: approx 60 minutes. sound quality: 7/9 (for both versions)

The complete concert appeared on the following bootleg:

Die Kalten Winde des Winters

Half the concert appeared on

To the Centre of Koln Vol II

Song 15 from this concert appeared on the following bootleg 7":

The Visitor 7" / Mater Dolorosa 7" / Atrocity Exhibition 7" / The Visitor 7" Box Set

This concert more than made up for the disaster in Antwerpen. the basement was situated in the basement of an old church. the atmosphere was outstanding, the audience made up of crowds of german punks who were very enthusiastic about the band's music, and the sound was greatly enhanced by the odd acoustics of the arched and vaulted crypt.

Thanks to christian for the scan


The Basement Cologne photographed in 2008. (C) Copyright Joy Division - The Eternal web site (Michel Enkiri) and reproduced here with permission